03 November 2013

The Reckless Engineer by Jac Wright, Book review and GIVEAWAY!

Soul Mate Publishing 
Coming to Amazon on 6 November!
Synopsis: (From the author's website)

Jack Connor's lives an idyllic life by the Portsmouth seaside married to Caitlin McAllen, a stunning billionaire heiress, and working at his two jobs as the Head of Radar Engineering of Marine Electronics and as the Director of Engineering of McAllen BlackGold, his powerful father-in-law Douglas McAllen's extreme engineering company in Oil & Gas.  He loves his two sons from his first marriage and is amicably divorced from his beautiful first wife Marianne Connor.  Their delicately balanced lives are shattered when sexy Michelle Williams, with whom Jack is having a secret affair and who is pregnant with his child, is found dead and Jack is arrested on suspicion for the murder.

Jeremy Stone brings London's top defence attorney, Harry Stavers, to handle his best friend's defence.

Who is the bald man with the tattoo of a skull seen entering the victim's house?  Who is "KC" who Caitlin makes secret calls to from a untraceable mobile?  Has powerful Douglas McAllen already killed his daughter's first partner and is he capable of killing again?  Is Caitlin's brother Ronnie McAllen's power struggle with Jack for the control of McAllen Industries so intense that he is prepared to kill and frame his brother-in-law?  Is the divorce from Jack's first wife as amicable on her part as they believe it to be?  Are his sons prepared to kill for their vast inheritance?  Who are the ghosts from Caitlin's past in Aberdeen, Scotland haunting the marriage?  What is the involvement of Jack's manager at Marine Electronics?

The cast of characters is made even more colorful by the supporting entourage: the big Scott and his gang, HosĂ© and Heineken, who carry out Douglas McAllen’s “troubleshooting;” McAllens' bumbling solicitors McKinley and Magnus Laird; Caitlin McAllen’s handymen, Cossack and Levent; and Jeremy’s sidekick, the gay black actor working in the London West End.

While Jack is charged and his murder trial proceeds in the Crown Court under barrister Harry Stavers’ expert care, Jeremy runs a race against time to find the real killer and save his friend's life, if he is in fact innocent, in a tense saga of love, desire, power, and ambition.

Here are my thoughts: 

The Reckless Engineer is definitively a book for serious 'Whodunnit'! Author Jac Wright created gripping characters for his new novel and each one could be a suspect...until your turn the next page and someone else comes into the play!

Michelle Williams the murder victim,  appears to be nothing but a conniving money hungry gal whom some might have a very good reason to kill. 
When our main protagonist, an oil rig engineer and something of a philanderer by the name of Jack Connor is arrested as a suspect, his best friend Jeremy Stone,  also in engineering and something of an amateur sleuth, steps in and calls friend Harry Stavers, Attorney at law to built a solid defense case. 

A fast paced plot line has you guessing all the way as one character after the other appears to be next in line as a suspect in the crime, from Jack's wealthy and cheating wife to her billionaire father. 
Using his extensive engineering skills to determine the actual crime motive, Jeremy Stone, another Watson it appears, finds one clue after another in his hunt for the real killer in order to save friend Jack.

Jac Wright's enthusiasm in delivering this action packed mystery is not to be missed. Never drowning his audience with too much technical engineering information, he none the less gives you a taste of the ensuing science applied to establish to whom, how and why of the case!

Set against the beautiful landscape of coastal England all the way to Aberdeen Scotland, readers will have a hard time to put this novel down!

5 Stars! 

Note to Readers: Due to thematic adult contents, for mature audience only!
About the Author:

Jac Wright is a published poet, a published author, and an electronics engineer educated at Stanford, University College London, and Cambridge who lives and works in England. 

Jac studied English literature from an early age of three, developing an intense love for poetry, drama, and writing in Speech & Drama classes taken every Saturday for fourteen years, and in subsequent creative writing classes taken during the university years. 

A published poet, Jac's first passion was for literary fiction and poetry writing as well as for the dramatic arts. You will find these influences in the poetic imagery and prose, as well as the in the dramatic scene setting and deep character creation in his writing.

These passions - for poetry, drama, literary fiction, and electronic engineering - have been combined to create the first book in the literary suspense series, The Reckless Engineer. There are millions of professionals in high tech corporate environments who work in thousands of cities in the US, the UK, and the world such as engineers, technicians, technical managers, investment bankers, and corporate lawyers. High drama, power struggles, and human interest stories play out in the arena every day. Yet there are hardly any books that tell their stories; there are not many books that they can identify with. Jac feels compelled to tell their stories in The Reckless Engineer series.

Jac also writes the literary short fiction series, Summerset Tales, in which Wright explores characters struggling against their passions and social circumstances in the semi-fictional region of contemporary England called Summerset, partly the region that Thomas Hardy called Wessex. Some of the tales have an added element of suspense. The collection is published serially in the tradition of Charles Dickens' The Pickwick Papers and Thomas Hardy's Wessex Tales. The first tale, The Closet, accompanies the first title in the author's full-length book, The Reckless Engineer.

Oh yes Folks, there is a giveaway!
Jac Wright has graciously offered copies of his book 'The Closet" for 10 lucky readers!
Go to the link below and enter for your chance to win:

I received a ARC Ebook of this title from the author to review . I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC 16 CFR, Part 255 'Guides concerning the use of endorsements and testimonials in advertising. I was not asked to write a positive review and all opinions expressed are entirely my own. 

(Please note that the ARC may differ in very minor detail from the finished Ebook because a final round of copy editing will be done by the publisher prior to release!)


  1. I love it when you find a book and give it the highest rating! I know I will love it, too! Enjoy your week my friend!

    1. An excellent mystery Diane, give it a try!
      All the best,

  2. This sounds like one for me! Funnily enough, last week my friend was suggesting we paid a visit to Portsmouth.

  3. A good story to enjoy Tracey and if you go, please take lots of photos!!

  4. Looks like a good mystery :) I can't wait to read it!

  5. Thanks Noelle for one of my favourite reviews. I should like to thank the members of the blog for your great comments. Wish you all many wonderful experiences through reading.


I love to share dreams and always enjoy meeting kindred spirits!
Thank you for stopping by!